Buhari Approves Appointment into Ministry, Parastatals


President Muhammadu Buhari has approved new appointment into top positions in parastatals under the Ministry of Communications and Digital Economy.

This was disclosed in a statement made available by the Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Femi Adesina on Monday.

Some of the agencies for which new board chairpersons were named include NITDA and NCC.

The President appointed Prof. Adeolu Akande as the new Chairman of Nigerians Communications Commission (NCC) Board of Commissioners.

Buhari Approves New Appointments

Also, Abubakar Sa’id was appointed as the Board Chairman of National Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA).

Buhari noted that the appointments are subject to Senate confirmation.

See the full list of the appointees below:

1. Nigerians Communications Commission (NCC)

(a) Prof. Adeolu Akande (South West) replaces Senator Olabiyi Durojaiye (South West) as Chairman, Board of Commissioners – subject to Senate confirmation

(b) Mr Uche Onwude (South East) replaces Senator Ifeanyi Godwin Ararume (South East) as Non-Executive Commissioner – subject to Senate confirmation.

2. The National Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA)

(a) Dr Abubakar Sa’id replaces Prof. Adeolu Akande as Board Chairman

(b) Dr Habibu Ahmed Imam (North West) replaces Dr Lawal Bello Moriki (North West)

(c) Dr Mohammed Sa’idu Kumo as Board Member

3. The Nigerian Postal Service (NIPOST)

Dr Ismail Adebayo Adewusi (South West) replaces Barrister Bisi Adegbuyi (South West) as Postmaster General/CEO

4. Galaxy Backbone Limited (GBB)

Professor Muhammed Bello Abubakar replaces Architect Yusuf Kazaure

5. The Nigeria Communications Satellite Limited (NigComSat)

(a) Architect Yusuf Kazaure replaces Chief Dr George Nnadubem Moghalu as Board Chairman

(b) Dr Najeem Salam replaces Hon. Samson Osagie as Executive Director, Marketing and Business Development

(c) Professor Abdu Ja’afaru Bambale replaces Kazeem Kolawole Raji as Executive Director, Technical Services

(d) Hadi Mohammed replaces Mohammed Lema Abubakar as Executive Director, Administration


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here